My first day at The|New|Group

Where do I begin.. aside from what you just saw me say, when I finally got to TNG, Tom Bennett, strategist, took me around to meet everyone on the team and everyone was super nice. The vibe there was really chill and collaborative. People were up and visiting others desks and it was really cool to see first hand how it was like at this particular agency. I have tons of videos for you guys from today so keep reading and you’ll find them… Throughout the day, I went around the office and met everyone and also sat in on 2 meetings with the strategists Tom, Kaci, and Scott. One meeting was an internal client brief meeting and the other was through the intercom with the client.

It was amazing to see how the three of them just threw out their ideas and thoughts so quickly and communicated so well. Also when we were in the phone meeting, it was interesting to see how its like to see people interacting with one another to communicate what’s on their mind silently as they are trying to tell the person who is speaking to the client to also mention this and that. I learned a lot just from that one meeting. The way they talked, the lingo they were using {which by the way, when I get more time, I will be posting an exclusive list of the TNG Lingo… Stay tuned for that}. Also after the meeting I was able to converse with both Tom and Scott both strategists/planners/whatever else needs done on what it exactly it is that a strategist does and to keep it short and sweet, they basically take their knowledge about what they know about the client and what they’re looking for and point them in the right direction. A little bullshitting and a little push push shove shove and saying sweet things they wanna hear will do the job.. {hopefully}.

I FINALLY MADE IT TO TNG:

MEET DOUG NEW – FOUNDER of TNG

My schedule for today was:

  • 9:30A – 12:30P: Tour and meet everyone in the office
  • 12:30P – 1:30P: lunch + blog
  • 1:30P – 2:00P: meeting with the strategists
  • 2:00P – 4:00P: Meet more people + take mugshots of everyone
  • 4:00P – 5:00P: Client meeting + strategists
  • 5:00P – 6:00P: talked and wrapped up the day with the designer

Aaron Bean is the Director of Strategy and I got a little time to talk to him about branding and strategists and the pros & cons of owning your own agency and working for an agency. I encourage those who are interested int his topic to watch it below.

At the end of the day, I got to speak to

Nicole  {Art Director} +

Eric {Senior Art Director}

about design and what it took to get a good job out of school and their insights on TNG. We also spoke about how the word “retarded” totally means a good thing and Noah {3D designer} stood up and informed us that it was a term that was used greatly in the eastcoast. So next time you hear someone say retarded, they’re not ignorant, they’re totally rockin the ish. *if that makes any sense… poo.


Anywho, so then Nicole {art director} and I also started a conversation about the benefits of having a big corporate company {like Nike, Intel, Microsoft etc.} on your resume. I asked her this because I am currently working with nike as a freelancer and have also done stuff through school with Adidas and one day I had gone to discuss my resume with my Career Advisor Barry Wall {which btw, if you in the Seattle area and looking for a super smart and awesome recruiter, check him out}. Well I told him about my recent experiences and asked if I should throw Nike into my resume now that I have that under my belt. He had said that I shouldn’t and that what I had was totally good enough. After telling Nicole all this, she really believed that having such a large company on your resume REALLLY helps with the hiring process. I can totally see where she’s coming from but if you think about it logically, there are LOTS and LOTS of people who have people like Nike and Intel on their resume but these people who have gotten involved may have only had a task to past a sheet of paper to a board for 2 hours long. Nicole totally understood where I was coming from but she still felt that having that on your resume would still help. She also mentioned a really good point and that was, “it’s all on the way you present yourself and how you tell the story.” I think that’s absolutely vital to doing anything successfully. I think that After having this discussion with her, I feel like I’ve got some unanswered questions. I need to explore this more and go back to my adviser to see what his reasoning behind not having them on my resume was. If any of you have any thoughts on this, I would love to hear them.

Here are the people I met today, a few were out of the office.

After my TNG, Allison McKeever and I got together along with Jodie DeSimone from Kotes Kokes and Allison’s boyfriend Matt to go out to the driving range. We went to the Portland Meadows Golf Course and it was pretty ghetto {we couldn’t use a driver unless we couldn’t hit more than 200 yards out.. boo} but the lady who was there managing it was super cool so that’s okay.

To wrap up this blog, i’m going to leave you guys with a few videos of Ryan Christensen from Same Underneath and his story below. This was taken yesterday at our orientation presentation:

Stay tuned to hear more about my project proposal tomorrow 😀

2 responses to “My first day at The|New|Group

  1. Not fair! I was going to make my Agency peeps hold cards w/ name on it! I will have to innovate.

  2. Not fair, where’s my pic? haha I was curious about the camera in your hand! 🙂

Leave a Reply

