One more day.

Where to begin? Okay. Got it.

First of all, let me explain a little bit about who I am. My name is Christine Vo but most call me Vo and one calls me CVo. I am currently a senior in the graphic design department at The Art Institute of Portland. My plan for the next 10 weeks is to build my portfolio, network with people from all over the place.. more specifically from the Portland and Seattle area… and basically make my life beyond chaotic before I graduate in mid-September. Things should fall into place if I do everything right and the chaos will be never-ending. My friends say I’m a workaholic… I would like to think that I’m just playing a game that consumes a huge chunk of my existence… 😉

* * *

So back in May, when things couldn’t have been more chaotic with school, work and travel, I received a phone call from Heather D. from HMH. At this exact moment, I was in standing somewhere in the middle of Caesars on the Vegas Strip and couldn’t believe what I was hardly hearing,

“Hi Chr__tine, this is ___?___ from Co__bor___ry…..(blah blah blah… i couldn’t hear)…. inter_ted????”

Hell yes I am! All the sleepless nights, limitless work loads, and people I’ve connected with is starting to pay off. To keep is short.. there were a few obstacles to go around since it was my last term of school and my classes had to be switched around a bit but it all panned out perfectly…

It’s now July 6th, 2008 and there is officially a little under 27 hours left until the COLAB crew gathers and I am mostly excited and partly nervous. For those of you who are not familiar with COLABORATORY, get it from my fellow genius friend Bram:

“Take 10 of the most driven advertising students in the country. Give them three different roles. Put them in an agency for two week for an extensive internship. Then repeat this process two more times.”

The concept’s pretty simple. The opportunity is HUGE! The outcome is gonne be JiNORMOUS!

I am scheduled to work at these 3 different agencies:

  1. The New Group
  2. Ascentium
  3. Livengood Nowack

The other agencies involved are:

  1. CMD Agency
  2. Grady Britton
  3. Asterix Group
  4. Anvil Media
  5. HMH
  6. Eroi
  7. Fish Marketing

Also, Every Friday everyone will be meeting at these agencies:

  1. Henry V
  2. ID Branding
  3. Pop Art, Inc.
  4. NORTH
  5. Coates Kokes

The excitement keeps building up as the hours pass by…

2 responses to “One more day.

  1. I’m glad that you’ve started a blog too. I’m looking forward to reading about your experiences at the agencies you get to work with. I can’t wait to get the ball rolling on this one!

  2. So you got a gig at HMH?

Leave a comment